HMHB Audio

Selected sessions from the radio... please don't sell these on eBay....

Kershaw - Brampton Live, 27 August 2006

35 mins of HMHB at Brampton Live, broadcast on the Andy Kershaw show.
  1. Andy Kershaw Intro (0.2Mb)
  2. The Light At The End Of The Tunnel (2.5Mb)
  3. CORGI Registered Friends (3.4Mb)
  4. Paintball's Coming Home (2.2Mb)
  5. Joy Division Oven Gloves (3.4Mb)
  6. Interview with Nigel and Geoff (7.5Mb)
  7. 24 Hour Garage People (with excerpts of Hal An Tow, Bird On A Wire and There Stands The Glass (4.9Mb)
  8. For What Is Chatteris... (1.7Mb)
  9. We Built This Village On A Trad. Arr. Tune (4.4Mb)
  10. Running Order Squabble Fest (1.9Mb)

Peel Session, 16 November 2004

Four tracks recorded before John's death, broadcast on 16th November 2004 on Rob Da Bank's 'Peel Show' on Radio 1:
  1. Asparagus Next Left (4.6Mb)
  2. For What Is Chatteris? (2.6Mb)
  3. Epiphany (4.8Mb)
  4. Joy Division Oven Gloves (4.2Mb)

Kershaw Session, 26 September 2004

Four live tracks recorded on 24th September 2004, broadcast on Andy Kershaw's Radio 3 programme on 26th September 2004 (ta to Nick):
  1. CORGI Registered Friends (4.1Mb)
  2. Chat (2.8Mb)
  3. King Of Rome (4.5Mb)
  4. Chat (0.7Mb)
  5. Chat (2.2Mb)
  6. Chat (0.4Mb)
  7. Mate Of The Bloke Who Set Up The PA (3.5b)
  8. Chat (1.0Mb)
  9. I'm Throwing Rice (At The Girl I Love) / Paintball's Coming Home (new version) (3.0Mb)
  10. Outro (0.3Mb)
"King of Rome" is a song by David Sudbury; it came 4th in a national songwriting competition in the late 80's, and was picked up and recorded by June Tabor. "I'm Throwing Rice" is a song by Eddie Arnold from 1949.

In the middle of this session, Nigel produced a couple of tracks to play on the show and discuss - this is what the chat in the middle is about. The tracks in question were:

a. Reverend Black Billy Sunday - "Will You Spend Your Eternity In Hell"
b. Tom Darby & Jimmie Tarlton - "Lonesome In The Pines"

Peel Special, 31 August 2004

A 2-track acetate given to John Peel for his 65th birthday; it features HMHB covering Roy Orbison's "A Legend in My Time", with The Fall's "Job Search" on the other side. There are no plans to release this 'single' anywhere.
  1. A Legend In My Time (3.23Mb).

Peel Session, 3 September 2002

Recorded live in one take in Manchester at the same time (24th July) as the Kershaw session, broadcast on the John Peel show on 3rd September 2002:
  1. Them's The Vagaries
  2. The Light At The End Of The Tunnel (Is The Light Of An Oncoming Train)
  3. Song To The Siren/Vatican Broadside
  4. Breaking News

The files are all around 3Mb each.

Kershaw Session, 2 August 2002

Six live tracks recorded on 24th July 2002, broadcast in three parts (1-2, 3-5, 6) on Andy Kershaw's Radio 3 programme on 2nd August 2002:
  1. When The Evening Sun Goes Down
  2. If I Had Posession Over Pancake Day
  3. 27 Yards Of Dental Floss
  4. Twenty Four Hour Garage People
  5. There Stands the Glass
  6. Running Order Squabblefest

The first two files are about 7Mb each, the last is 1.6Mb.

Peel Session, 9 September 1999

  1. Intro (1.5Mb)
  2. Uffington Wassail (3.0Mb)
  3. Gubba Look-a-Likes (4.1Mb)
  4. Bottleneck At Capel Curig (2.2Mb)
  5. Twenty Four Hour Garage People (1.5Mb)

Meltdown Festival (broadcast on Peel), 5 July 1998

  1. A Shropshire Lad (2.5Mb)
  2. You're Hard (2.5Mb)
  3. Deep House Victims' Minibus Appeal (3.5Mb)
  4. Bad Review (3.8Mb)
  5. Split Single With Happy Lounge Labelmates (2.5Mb)
  6. 4AD3CDCD / Yipps (5.0Mb)
  7. A Country Practice (7.3Mb)
  8. Running Order Squabble Fest (2.1Mb)
  9. Four Skinny Indie Kids (2.5Mb)

Peel Session, 24 February 1998

  1. Four Skinny Indie Kids Drinking Weak Lager (2.3Mb)
  2. You're Hard (2.0Mb)
  3. Secret Gig (3.0Mb)
  4. Moody Chops (2.4Mb)

Peel Session, 2 February 1997

  1. Monmore Hare's Running (3.4Mb)
  2. Tonight Matthew, I'm Going To Be With Jesus (4.0Mb)
  3. PRS Yearbook - Quick, The Drawbridge (2.6Mb)
  4. He Who Would Valium Take (2.1Mb)

Radcliffe Session, 14 October 1996

John Peel standing in for Mark Radcliffe - a session recorded live.
  1. Intro (0.9Mb)
  2. Bad Review (3.3Mb)
  3. Deep House Victims' Minibus Appeal (2.7Mb)
  4. Chat (2.9Mb)
  5. Dead Men Don't Need Season Tickets (3.2Mb)
  6. A Shropshire Lad (2.1Mb)
  7. Paintball's Coming Home (1.8Mb)
  8. Chat (1.0Mb)

Peel Session, 5 August 1995

  1. Song Of Encouragement For The Orme Ascent (2.0Mb)
  2. CAMRA Man (3.0Mb)
  3. Get Kramer (3.1Mb)
  4. Mr Cave's A Window Cleaner Now (3.2Mb)

Peel Session, 27 June 1992

  1. Mars Ultras, You'll Never Make The Station (4.6Mb)
  2. 4AD3DCD (3.1Mb)
  3. Floreat Inertia (4.3Mb)
  4. Goodnight Irene (2.9Mb)

Johnnie Walker Session, 1992

A live acoustic session recorded on the way to a gig.
  1. Chat (1.6Mb)
  2. Whit Week Malarkey (4.1Mb)
  3. Chat (0.9Mb)
  4. Doreen (3.0Mb)
  5. Chat (0.5Mb)

Peel Session, 4 April 1990

  1. Yipps (My Baby Got The) (4.8Mb)
  2. Ordinary To Enschede (3.4Mb)
  3. Our Tune (2.7Mb)
  4. Prag Vec At The Melkweg (2.7Mb)

Peel Session, 8 September 1986

  1. Rod Hull Is Alive - Why? (2.4Mb)
  2. I Was A Teenage Armchair Honved Fan (2.4Mb)
  3. The Best Things In Life (2.6Mb)
  4. Dickie Davies Eyes (3.7Mb)
The last track has been updated (27/01/06) - it's now the correct version, and in its entirety.

Peel Session, 3 March 1986

The tracks that aren't linked to have subsequently been commercially released (on ACD).
  1. I Left My Heart In Papworth General (3.2Mb)
  2. The Continuous Cremation Of Hattie Jacques (aka Carry On Cremating)
  3. Reasons To Be Miserable (Part 10)
  4. The Bastard Son Of Dean Friedman (2.3Mb)

Peel Session, 20 November 1985

The whole session was released by the BBC, so no links here....
  1. D'Ye Ken Ted Moult?
  2. Arthur's Farm / All I Want For Christmas Is A Dukla Prague Away Kit
  3. The Trumpton Riots
  4. Old Tige

Return to the Half Man Half Biscuit Home Page.